top of page

The Catholic Defender: Devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

1. Receiving Communion frequently

2. First Fridays: going to Confession and receiving the Eucharist on the first Friday of each month for nine consecutive months. Many parishes will offer public First Friday devotions; if they do, you must perform First Fridays publicly. If it isn’t so offered in your parish, you can do this privately, going to Confession, receiving the Eucharist, and offering your prayers for the intention of the Holy Father.

3. Holy Hour: Eucharistic Adoration for one hour on Thursdays. (“Could you not watch one hour with me?”) Holy Hour can be made alone or as part of a group with formal prayers.

4. Celebrating of the Feast of the Sacred Heart

Jesus gave St. Margaret Mary Alacoque (1647-1690) 12 specific promises for those who consecrate themselves and make reparations to His Sacred Heart:

1. He will give them all the graces necessary in their state of life.

2. He will establish peace in their homes.

3. He will comfort them in all their afflictions.

4. He will be their secure refuge during life, and above all, in death.

5. He will bestow abundant blessings upon all their undertakings.

6. Sinners will find in His Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.

7. Lukewarm souls shall become fervent.

8. Fervent souls shall quickly mount to high perfection.

9. He will bless every place in which an image of His Heart is exposed and honored.

10. He will give to priests the gift of touching the most hardened hearts.

11. Those who shall promote this devotion shall have their names written in His Heart.

12. In the excessive mercy of His Heart, His all-powerful love will grant to all those who receive Holy Communion on the First Fridays in nine consecutive months the grace of final perseverance; they shall not die in His disgrace, nor without receiving their sacraments. His divine Heart shall be their safe refuge in this last moment.

St. Margaret Mary Alacoque wrote, “He (Jesus) disclosed to me the marvels of his Love and the inexplicable secrets of his Sacred Heart.”

bottom of page